Wednesday, October 21, 2015

President Buhari appoints Mahmud Yakubu as INEC Chairman

Mahmud Yakubu has been appointed as the new substantive chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission by President Muhammadu Buhari.
His appointment was approved on Wednesday, during the Council of State meeting, at the state house.

Yakubu takes over from Amina Zakari who has been working as INEC Chairman in acting capacity since Attahiru Jega left office in June. She was appointed INEC commissioner for the North-East.
The Council of State also appointed 4 other INEC Commissioners.
They are; Dr Antonla Taiye Okoosi -North-central, Alhaji Baba Shettima Arfo (North-east) Dr Mohammed Mustafa (South-south) and Soyebi Adedeji Solomon (South-west).

No comments:

Post a Comment

We'd love to hear from you !!!